what’s cooking- coconut chicken

A couple of years ago, when I was a college student spending roughly $30-40 on groceries on week, my dad offered to let me pick a few recipes for us to make together. I picked this coconut shrimp recipe I had pinned ages before.

I used a recipe from howsweeteats.com called crunchy coconut chicken fingers (with peach honey mustard), and we toiled in the kitchen for waaaaaay longer than it should have taken. I felt like it was time to try it again, especially because my husband grew up on chicken fingers.

will-chicken-eyes

I’m at the point now where I’m just proud of myself for actually making some of the recipes I pin, and I’m not developing my own unless you count me substituting breadcrumbs for panko because that’s what I have. (That doesn’t count, btw. At least I think. Try as I might, I haven’t found a code of conduct for blog etiquette.)

img_9068img_9064img_9078

We paired the chicken with a 50/50 spring mix and greens with sliced tomatoes, avocado, and onion, drizzled in Ken’s Steakhouse Light Options Honey Mustard. I couldn’t get a proper picture of the salad before Will devoured it, but that combination is our go-to for side salads. This is how I feel about that honey mustard dressing, though. I wish I had vats of it.

haley mustard.jpg

Give the recipe a try and let me know if you like it! It’s coconutty and moist and delish.

 

 

Leave a Reply

