what’s cooking-roasted root veggies

Last week, my friend who has graciously let me use her camera, asked Will and me to take some pictures for their Christmas cards. You can tell how on top of it my friend is, right? I still think of Christmas cards as being an adult thing.

Anyway, we went back to her house afterward to walk and sit by the fire pit. My friend has a little hutch in her kitchen with gorgeous cook books on the shelves, including a delicious veggie-centric one called Plenty by Ottolenghi. She laughed and joked that the recipes had ingredients that were too hard to find, so when she let me borrow it, I scoured through the ingredients list looking for one that seemed more familiar, and this roasted root vegetable recipe is the first (and only) one I made.

img_0099

We’ve been using our cast iron skillet a lot lately. It was a hand-me-down from Will’s grandfather who passed away last year. I never got to meet his grandmother, but Will says she really loved cooking and remembers sleepovers in Huntsville with a big breakfast in the morning. I like to think of her sweet face from the scrapbooks smiling and cooking sausage in the same skillet.

img_0100

This is basically roasted root vegetables (including parsnips which I had never cooked with) with a tangy, capery dressing. We paired it with chicken thighs, but I think it would be even better with a pork tenderloin. Just rub a little oil on that baby, brown it for 12 minutes on 550 (flipping in the middle), and then broil it at 450 for 20-30 more minutes. I did it until it was 140 degrees in the middle. Anyway! Back to the veggies.

I used this recipe, and we munched on it for a few days afterward. We made this before the Whole30, but you could easily replace the mustard with a Whole30 compliant mustard (try Annie’s) and omit the sesame seeds. Yum!

img_0104img_0106What have you been cooking up lately?

 

Leave a Reply

