A whole lot of cooking

Will and I just went on a little weekend getaway less than two hours north of Louisville. One day, after talking to our friends about their upcoming vacations, we opened up Airbnb and chose Columbus, Indiana, which is famous for several of its public building being designed by noted architects. (I’ll share more of the architecture pictures soon.) It is also right next to a quaint little artsy town and a state park. We ended up finding a Airbnb that was located on a dirt road off of dirt road. The woman who owned it was a minister to the Earth Mother, which I a very unfamiliar with but it was definitely reflected in her decorating.

img_0165

I was less excited about the trip, though, when I realized that we would be on the Whole30 during it. The Whole30 = lots of cooking, packing, and not being able to eat out, so we packed a cooler full of leftovers, gathered some vegetables, eggs, and meat to cook, and made a little meal plan for the weekend which included some delicious and surprisingly filling soup.

img_0185

I made bone broth using TheKitchn’s bone broth instructions and then used that to make Paleo Asian Chicken Soup. The bone broth sounds complicated, but it wasn’t. I bought chicken necks at Whole Foods, roasted them in the oven, cut up some celery and onion I had in the fridge, and threw it into the slow cooker I borrowed. Twenty-four hours later I had rich, flavorful broth.

The final product of the soup was really special, warm, and filling. I could talk about the recipes we have cooked and the Whole30 for forever, but my brain is tired of food. It just wants to have brownies and cookies and cake and for me to hush about the other stuff.

img_0149

img_0141

Anyway, I ended up really appreciating the trip because it gave me a chance to relax, not think about food, and to have fun with Will. We talked about his mountain biking days, what life would be like in the middle of nowhere, and the book I was reading, Miss Jane  by Brad Watson. We spent time with God in a touristy, cozy tea shop with a fireplace. We dreamed a little about the future. We missed Louisville and our apartment by the end of it. We felt more relaxed and expectant about the holidays.

img_0138

img_0131

img_0158img_0134

Here’s to weekend getaways and quitting the Whole30 (more on that later)!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

